Black Boxes of Terror

Recently, I’ve been noticing black boxes on the screens of my thin clients connected to VMware View desktops. These boxes will go away upon rebooting the thin client but come back some time later.

Here’s the fix. The black boxes are due to bitmap caching being turned on across your VDI or View session. If you’re using Microsoft Terminal Services (mstsc.exe), then you can turn this off. It’s a registry hack for VMware View users. So, here it is:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\VMware, Inc.\VMware VDM\Client\RDP Settings]
“BitmapPersistence”=”false”
“CachePersistenceActive”=”false”

I imported this into the registry on my thin clients (Windows XPe) and the black boxes went away.

Until Next Time

Techmill

~ by techmill on September 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Black Boxes of Terror”

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the
    layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify
    it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  2. Hi there! I just want tto give you a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve got here on
    this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

Leave a comment